Mourning Snow

Dedicated to my loving dad, Allen Shertzer. Thanks for all the love, hard work, and memories.

Mourning Snow (daddy’s gloves)

Vs1

I guess I won’t be sleeping in today

Ice and snow have covered the roadway

So, I rise unwillingly from my cozy bed

Slipping on my boots, as I finish getting dressed

Vs2

Stepping outside in the dark frigid snowy wet

I begin to shovel and work up quite a sweat

Gray clouds show that there is no end in sight

My strength is fading but my spirit fights

Chorus

Morning snow, resurfaced memories

Of the kind of daddy, dad used to be

He’s gone but mom gave to me as a gift of love

It’snow in my hands, daddy’s gloves

Vs3

Gotta start the sidewalks and driveway

Their is much to do but by my side He stays

Straining with the shovel the longer I go

Snow drifts everywhere as bitter winds blow

Chorus

I guess I won’t be sleeping in today

Written by Brian Shertzer

7-6-2020

3 thoughts on “Mourning Snow

Leave a comment